Kat Hill: Bothy

Thu Jun 20 2024 at 07:00 pm to 08:00 pm UTC+01:00

Blackwell's Bookshop | Edinburgh

Blackwell's Edinburgh South Bridge
Publisher/HostBlackwell's Edinburgh South Bridge
Kat Hill: Bothy
Advertisement
Join Kat Hill as she talks about her new book, Bothy: In Search of a Simple Shelter
About this Event

You will find a bothy in the mountains or the wilderness, remote huts you can’t reserve, usually without electricity or other mod-cons, running water or a marker on the map. And it’s there that you’ll meet Kat Hill – kettle on, feet up and pen out. We are looking forward to welcoming Kat along to the shop on Thursday 20th June at 7pm as she talks about her questing, atmospheric collection of meditations, Bothy: In Search of a Simple Shelter

Leading us on a gorgeous journey around the UK, Kat reveals the history of these wild mountain shelters and the people who visit them. With an historian’s insight and a rambler’s imagination, Kat lends fresh consideration to the concepts of nature, wilderness and escape. All the while, weaving together her story of heartbreak and new purpose with those her fellow wanderers – past and present. For readers of Robert MacFarlane and Raynor Winn, this is no conventional environmental history. Instead, writing with warmth and wit, Kat has crafted a compelling work of creative-nonfiction, travel memoir, cultural geography and environmental activism. Bothy is a stirring, beautiful book for anyone who longs to run away to the wilds.


Kat Hill is an author & researcher based on the west coast of Scotland. She has a PhD from the University of Oxford (2011), where she was also a British Academy Postdoctoral Award holder. Kat has been the recipient of numerous grants from major academic funders, and she is the author of the prize-winning book, Baptism, Brotherhood, and Belief: Anabaptism and Lutheranism, 1525-1585 (Oxford University Press, 2015). Most recently she held an Environmental Humanities fellowship at the Institute of Advanced Studies in the Humanities at the University of Edinburgh and completed an MA in Environmental Humanities at Bath Spa. Kat lectured at Oxford, UEA and Birkbeck College for ten years before leaving academia and London for a life in Scotland to write, and she currently works as Community Engagement Coordinator for Highlands Rewilding. She is a Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu black belt.

-

Doors: 6.30pm, event starts: 7pm

Tickets are £3.00, there is also Ticket & Book option which includes a signed copy of Bothy by Kat Hill.

The bookshop has level access, events are seated and speakers use microphones. If you have any concerns about accessibility, please do get in touch and we will do our best to accommodate your needs.

For more information or if you would like a signed copy because you can't make it to the event, please contact the Blackwell's events team on 0131 622 8222 or [email protected]

Advertisement

Event Venue & Nearby Stays

Blackwell's Bookshop, 53-62 South Bridge, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Tickets

GBP 1.50 to GBP 16.99

Sharing is Caring:

More Events in Edinburgh

Energy on Draft Edinburgh Social  Event by GESGB
Thu Jun 20 2024 at 06:00 pm Energy on Draft Edinburgh Social Event by GESGB

Brewdog Lothian Road (upstairs)

Kin PositiviTEA
Thu Jun 20 2024 at 06:30 pm Kin PositiviTEA

Kin Collective

Active Inquiry Presents: Made to Connect
Thu Jun 20 2024 at 06:30 pm Active Inquiry Presents: Made to Connect

The Out of the Blue Drill Hall

Active Inquiry Presents: Made to Connect
Thu Jun 20 2024 at 06:30 pm Active Inquiry Presents: Made to Connect

Out of the Blue Drill Hall

Movement and Flow Module
Thu Jun 20 2024 at 06:45 pm Movement and Flow Module

10 Orwell Terrace

MAP Benefit - The Ravediggers and The Primevals
Thu Jun 20 2024 at 06:50 pm MAP Benefit - The Ravediggers and The Primevals

Leith Depot

The Phoenix Choir at Usher Hall!
Thu Jun 20 2024 at 07:30 pm The Phoenix Choir at Usher Hall!

Usher Hall

Phoenix Choir
Thu Jun 20 2024 at 07:30 pm Phoenix Choir

Lothian Road, EH1 2EA Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Shannon Vallor on How to Reclaim Our Humanity in the Age of AI
Thu Jun 20 2024 at 07:30 pm Shannon Vallor on How to Reclaim Our Humanity in the Age of AI

2 Blenheim Place, EH7 5JH Edinburgh, United Kingdom

LB With Love Shopping Extravaganza!
Thu Jun 20 2024 at 07:30 pm LB With Love Shopping Extravaganza!

Colinton Inn, Edinburgh

Thursday Bible group: Who Is The Holy Spirit?
Thu Jun 20 2024 at 07:30 pm Thursday Bible group: Who Is The Holy Spirit?

Meadowbank Church

Wavetable #31
Thu Jun 20 2024 at 07:30 pm Wavetable #31

Whitespace

Edinburgh is Happening!

Never miss your favorite happenings again!

Explore Edinburgh Events