Writing and Illustrating a Graphic Novel with Ali Fitzgerald (online) Jul 7 - Jul 28, 2021

Wed Jul 07 2021 at 06:00 pm

Berlin Drawing RoomWrangelstrasse 31, 10997 Kreuzberg, Germany | Berlin

Writing and Illustrating a Graphic Novel with Ali Fitzgerald (online) Jul 7 - Jul 28, 2021 with Ali Fitzgerald
In this part of our graphic narrative journey, we’ll learn how to combine comics into a longer story. We will look at the construction of different graphic novels, and discover how to craft a well-paced story. Using fun exercises, we’ll explore timing, tension, dialogue and visual innovation. You can come equipped with a story that you’ve always wanted to tell, or you can just bring curiosity for this exciting, new(ish) art form!
“Sometimes the story comes first, and the characters follow that, and sometimes vice versa. When the character comes first, I try to find out where the conflict or tension is and work towards resolving that in ways a reader might find interesting. If the character is well-developed, they will lead the way.“
– Interview with Ali Fitzgerald on Berlin Drawing Room Blog

Who: Would you like to draw comics?
This course is intended both for beginners and advanced participants who are interested in learning more about comics. At the end of the course, we should have several pages of new comics and hopefully a new (or renewed) enthusiasm for the medium!

Writing and Illustrating a Graphic Novel
July 7 – 28, 2021
4 x Wednesdays, 6 – 8pm CET
(6pm in Berlin, 12pm in New York, 9am in San Francisco, 5pm in London)
155 €*
*incl 19% VAT

Event Venue & Nearby Stays

Berlin Drawing RoomWrangelstrasse 31, 10997 Kreuzberg, Germany, Berlin, Germany

Tickets

Sharing is Caring: