Jessica Cottis conducts Dvořák's New World

Fri Apr 22 2022 at 07:30 pm to Sat Apr 23 2022 at 09:30 pm

Perth Concert Hall | Perth

West Australian Symphony Orchestra
Publisher/HostWest Australian Symphony Orchestra
Jessica Cottis conducts Dvo\u0159\u00e1k's New World
Soul-stirring romantic favourites
Elliott GYGER Concerto for Orchestra (World Premiere)
Maurice RAVEL Piano Concerto for the Left Hand
Antonín DVOŘÁK Symphony No.9 From the New World
Jessica Cottis conductor
Paavali Jumppanen piano
The bright lights and bustling streets give a hero’s welcome to the new world in one of the most popular symphonies of all time. Dvořák’s brilliant Ninth Symphony featured in WASO’s very first concert in 1928 and remains a Perth-audience favourite with its exquisite, yearning Largo second movement and powerful, profound finale.
We open this concert with a world premiere from award-winning Australian composer Elliott Gyger, followed by Ravel’s darkly brilliant Piano Concerto for the Left Hand, performed by Finnish virtuoso Paavali Jumppanen.
Elliott Gyger’s Concerto for Orchestra commissioned for WASO by Geoff Stearn.
As a condition of entry, all ticket holders 16 years and over are required to show proof of double dose COVID-19 vaccination or provide an acceptable medical exemption, and check in using SafeWA.

Event Venue & Nearby Stays

Perth Concert Hall, 5 St Georges Terrace, Perth, Australia


Sharing is Caring: