Dvořák’s “New World” Symphony

Sat Feb 12 2022 at 08:00 pm to Sun Feb 13 2022 at 03:30 pm

The Kimmel Cultural Campus | Philadelphia

The Philadelphia Orchestra
Publisher/HostThe Philadelphia Orchestra
Dvo\u0159\u00e1k\u2019s \u201cNew World\u201d Symphony
Eun Sun Kim - Conductor
Juliette Kang - Violin
Bates The Rhapsody of Steve Jobs (world premiere—Philadelphia Orchestra co-commission)
Barber Violin Concerto
Dvořák Symphony No. 9 (“From the New World”)
Dvořák’s enchanting Symphony No. 9 has captivated audiences for generations with its majestic fanfares, rich harmonies, and brilliant melodies. Composed “From the New World,” Dvořák reflects on his time in the United States, enriched by his experience of spirituals and American melodies. Composer Mason Bates’s The Rhapsody of Steve Jobs, a new work inspired by music from his opera The (R)evolution of Steve Jobs, tells the story of the man who brought us the iPhone, and who truly changed our world in ways we’re still struggling to understand.
Available in subscription packages: Saturday A, Sunday B

Event Venue & Nearby Stays

The Kimmel Cultural Campus, 300 S Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19102, Philadelphia, United States


Sharing is Caring: